Sign in with
Your question

Suggestions for new system build

Last response: in Systems
February 26, 2008 10:22:50 PM

So I am around 3 months out for my new and FIRST system build. I am a total noob, I have never built anything like this before, but I know what components I need to make it work, and I have TH forum if I get stuck and need help, so here goes. I have no idea what mobo to get? There are SO many choices and alot of the specs are over my head. How do I choose? I am building this system with high end top quality parts, as I want and need them to last a few years. So I am thinking about getting an ASUS, or EVGA? I don't know how to overclock YET, but I want to in the future. I am planning to get a Q6600 at the moment, I have read they have great success with OC'ing. I am unsure if I should DDR2 or DDR3? DDR3 is more expensive, but for upgrading purposes maybe I should choose DDR3 simply because by the time I upgrade this system, DDR3 will be more of a norm. I have also ordered (2) EVGA 8800GT's superclocked to run in SLi. I am craming it all into a Coolermaster Stacker 830 or 832. So how this sound so far? The mobo I am unsure what to get. I want something SLi compliant, and is top notch, and fast!!! Oh and overclockable. Well here is what I am thinking about getting, now you guys give me your opinion's, and suggestions. Remember talk to me like a child because I am a total noob at this. Thanks. Oh and this system will be used almost stricly for gaming.
February 26, 2008 11:22:40 PM

I will give you a tip on the DDR3 subject. So far only intel can support DDR3. The MOBO will usually support both DDR2 and DDR3 but only have 2 slots for each DDR2 and DDR3. This will force you to purchase 2 high end RAM modules (at least 4mb total). Try to find a MOBO with a good chipset that can support both DDR2 and DDR3. Good luck!
February 26, 2008 11:25:02 PM