Nvidia NForce 680i overclocking

Peaks

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2008
Hey all,

I am having trouble overclocking my Q6600 through this mobo's BIOS. Basically i am new to overclocking but i understand the basics and i know what to do to give a quick boost to your clock speed without increasing the temps to much. I am thinking that a boost to the FSB will give me a small overclock with little temperature boosts, this is because i am not increasing the voltages in anyway.

I am worried about the temperatures because i know that my chipset is notorious for giving a poor overclock : temperature ratio. My solution to this is to buy a new mobo in the future (probably p45) but in the meantime get a NB chipset heatsink.

Anyways, i digress.....My problem is that i tried to do a simple FSB boost in my BIOS just to see if i could increase the clock speed a little while i wait for my chip heatsink to arrive. However, after going into the BIOS i got confused.

Here is what i did:

CPU config:
C1E Enhanced Halt State - Disabled

FSB: changed FSB (QDR) from 1066 to 1800
This put the CPU freq (MHz) from 2133.3 to 2300.0

Multiplier: x8

Timings: 1:1

However, after rebooting my PC nothing seemed to have changed. FSB was still the same and clock speed was still the same. Plus my mobo made a really loud beeping sound on reboot.

Can anyone please help? Can you explain to me what all the information above means, where i go and how i increase the FSB and any other info you think i might need? Maybe all the configs are locked and i simply can't overclock with this motherboard?

Many thanks to those who reply :)

peaks,

Peaks

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2008
so i take it no one has tried overclocking with this motherboard. Maybe this should be a hint to me to get a new one hahaha!!!

solo3232

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008