[New System Build] Recommended hardware/specs for gaming system !

asdfsystema

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2008
Hey guys,

I'm new to this forum and this is my first time "TRYING" to build a computer with my cousin's help. It's been 7 years since my last computer purchased (... it's hell dealing with 1.5ghz .. 32mb video card LOL .. 128mb ram? etcetc).

So I'm willing to dish out up to 1,500$. I want the best possible computer that would last me up to maybe 5-10 years. Upgradeable.. etc. Here are the places where I really need your help (just about everything haha, sorry i'm a newb at computer specs)

CPU processor
Motherboard
Video card...
all the other stuff

Haha I pretty much need recommendations in everything. PSU ... etc .

I want to build it for gaming , so if possible, please tell me the best of the best with a reasonable price of course.

Thanks in advance.

BlackKnight7891

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2008
MB gigabyte P-35 models have come down in price a lot since the x38 release
cpu E8400 or E8200, both should easily oc to 3ghz
zalman cooler for sure i run an CNPS9500 fantastic cooler.
samsung are cheap (no complaints yet) Western digital are very reliable
19inc samsung 931c monitor
nvidia 8800gt should will fit in your price range
logitec g15 keyboard and g5 mouse. is a must for gaming
geil ram pc6400 geil are usually fantastic overclockers thier fairly cheap as well
sata dvd rom thiers not really a big difference in performce in this area.
650w silverstone psu
thermaltake or antec cases

If your interested have a look at my rig built recently I'm in AUS so the prices were up a little on US. cost just over $2000 runs around 45degrees celcius max load(prime95)

asdfsystema

Distinguished
Feb 27, 2008
thanks for the replies, they're helping a lot.

I was wondering, what about quad cores?
and for videocards, 512mb is sufficient for many years to come?

what would the expected price range be for comps that can play games like COD4 in max ?

thanks again !

Serj