• CPUs
  • Desktops
  • Computer
  • Product
Last response: in CPUs
March 27, 2008 3:28:35 PM

Greetings from Spain!
I am a professional chess player.
I need to buy a powerfull desktop computer dedicated for chess playing/analyzing.
The computer i am trying to buid has only one purpose: to support my home preparation and analyses between tournaments. When I am traveling I use my notebook with all my databases. However, I need a more powerful computer at home so I am study my games more deeply.
Can anyone give me some ideas for a chess computer based on whats good quality and value right now (processor, memory, motherboard, etc)?
I have aprox. 1800€ to spend.

I look forward your kindly help.

More about : chess computer

a c 127 à CPUs
March 27, 2008 3:43:04 PM

1800 euros would be like 2200 USD here and could get you a nice system. I suggest anything mobo from Asus or Gigabyte, 2-4GB of DDR2800 or DDR2 1066 and in my preference a C2Q Q6600, as that one has some great power.

I am sure more will come with more suggestions though.
March 27, 2008 3:47:04 PM

the turk of course :o  /terminator

Since he has the budget, why not get something more impressive? Q9450 or even QX9650, since he can afford it :D 
Related resources
March 27, 2008 4:00:48 PM

I appreciate your help but could you be more specific?...

Motherboard:
CPU:
Memory:
Graphics:
(...)

March 27, 2008 4:10:03 PM

It's not clear what you want the computer to do. If it's mostly for database analysis then the power needs to be in the CPU and memory as long as you have a software program that will utilize the CPU power (multi core/multi threaded application). You mentioned that you use your laptop to analyze databases so it is implying that hard disc capacity is sufficient but you're not telling us anything about what you need for data analysis and access speed.

Depending on the software you use, a 64bit OS may be approptiate.
March 27, 2008 4:11:03 PM

CPU: Q9450
Memory: DDR2 1066 x2G