I could use some thoughts on my first build

nerr

Distinguished
Feb 29, 2008
Hi there. I'm new to PC building, but I've been hanging around a lot of hardware forums, trying to gather opinions on the parts I've selected. This will be my very first build, and will be used for gaming, general purposes, HD video, and some audio encoding. I'll have enough money to buy all the parts some time around June. Here's my wish list:

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/WishList/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=8207528

I also plan on buying a Blu-Ray drive for my PC in the future, but I won't do that until prices are lower. Any thoughts on this build in general? I've been told that I should go with a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard instead, but I'm a little bit worried that I'll run out of SATA ports (2 HDDs, 2 Optical Drives once I get my Blu-Ray), and I want to make sure I've got room for expansion. Also, this DS3R board has DDR3 capability for whenever DDR3 becomes a standard and isn't ridiculously priced.

Any comments would be appreciated. I'm sure you guys know your stuff, and that's exactly the kind of knowledge I need right now. Thanks!

pous

Distinguished
Mar 30, 2007
Probably only need one cpu... not 9.

Other than that, look at the MX-2 compound from Arctic, it's supposed to perform better than AS5.

Everything else looks good to me. If you're not dead-set on 1066 ram you can get some nice ddr2 800 from G.Skill for $45 (2x 1gb) or for $90 you can get 2 x 2gb from them.

Other than that I'd say stick with what you've selected.

nerr

Distinguished
Feb 29, 2008
o_O 9 CPUs? Y'know... For the longest time, they kept disappearing off my wish list each time I would close Firefox. I could never figure out why, so I kept re-adding them. It still only shows up as one CPU for me. No clue how to fix this though... Any ideas?

I'll look at the MX-2 compound as well, thanks.