Sign in with
Your question

Looking for advice on first-time system build

Last response: in Systems
March 1, 2008 9:18:09 PM

Hey everyone,

I'm new to the forums here, so I thought I'd say hi and introduce myself before getting to my question. My name is Jordan, and I recently graduated from the University of Michigan with an engineering degree. The Dell desktop that saw me through college is starting to get old, and I've actually got the money to get a fairly top-end gaming system now. After looking at some of the systems from Dell and Alienware (and how expensive they were) I decided I was going to try to build my own. I've never done it before, but I have a friend who has several times and is going to walk me through the process. I mostly chose the components on my own, the only exceptions being the power supply and motherboard, since I wasn't really sure what I needed in those departments. He looked over the other components I wanted and made suggestions for a good power supply and motherboard for me. Here are the parts I'm currently planning on getting.

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Processor
Abit IP35 Pro Motherboard
Thermaltake Toughpower 750-Watt Power Supply
Zalman CNPS9700 CPU Cooler
EVGA 8800 GT SSC Video Card
4 GB Corsair XMS2 Memory
500 GB Seagate Barracuda Hard Drive
DVD Burner
22" Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium

I'm interested in your general opinion of the system build, but I also have a couple of specific questions as well. I looked at some reviews of the Abit IP35 motherboard online and I read a couple that said people had had problems using them with the E8000 series Wolfdale processors. Does anyone know more about this, or what kind of problem it is? Is there a better motherboard you could recommend? I'm also considering the option of getting a second video card in the future and linking them. Will this system build allow me to do that? And is it even worth it to get a second card (I've heard some say that it's not).

Thank you,
Jordan