Need Help Overclocking AMD 5000+ BE

fdrspock

Distinguished
Oct 9, 2008
I built a new computer several months ago and am having trouble keeping the system stable when overclocking. I wanted to see if anyone had suggestions based on my BIOS settings and components. I didn't know a whole lot about best components on the market so I bought a combo processor/mobo. I have a feeling that my mobo (see below) might be a limiting factor in my ability to setup a stable rig but I'm pretty new to overclocking. I installed the AMD Dual-Core Optimization tool as I thought this helped to stabilize my system but it doesn't seem to be having an effect. At this point I haven't stress tested the CPU/RAM since it crashes on it's own pretty often, even when my CPU usage is relatively low.

Also I am running Core Temp and Everest to monitor temps but I'm not really sure what is in range for normal and stress usage. My Core Temp shows 33/29 for the two cores and Everest (Home Ed.) shows 40 -- although this doesn't seem to vary like Core Temp does. Anyone know which of these is accurate and/or the difference between the two?

Anyone have suggestions for BIOS settings? Thanks in advance...

My Setup:

ASUS M2A-VM Motherboard
AMD 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
4GB (2x2GB) Corsair DDR2-800MHz
Vista Home Premium

My BIOS settings:

JumperFree Config
+1.2VNBSB - Auto
DDR2 Voltage Control - Auto
CPU Voltage Control - Auto
CPU Multiplier - 16X
CPU Voltage - 1.525V
CPU Frequency - 200 MHz

CPU Configuration
AMD Virtualization - Enabled
AMD CPU C1E Support - Disabled
AMD Live! - Disabled
AMD Cool'n'Quiet - Disabled

DRAM Options
Timing Mode - Automatic
Memory Clock Frequency - This is grayed out on Auto, if you set Timing Mode to Manual I can set values up to 800MHz

rambo117

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2008