Sign in with
Your question

Critique build - first timer

Last response: in Systems
March 2, 2008 7:44:48 PM

I already own a sufficient graphics card that will work for awhile and also a DVD-CD RW drive.
Please critique the build as I am new to the process. Thanks

CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Retail

MOBO - MSI P6N SLI Platinum LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

HARDDRIVE - Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST3500320NS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

RAM - G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

CASE - Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

CPU Cooler - XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 120mm Rifle CPU Cooler - Retail

PSU - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX ATX12V V2.2 550W Power Supply 90 - 264 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

More about : critique build timer

March 2, 2008 7:52:09 PM

I would consider a nice xfire chipset. They usualy perform better and next year you can purchase a dx10.1 card. 550w psu is just about as low as you can go. Slap an 800w-ish in that puppy for future proofing.
March 2, 2008 7:59:23 PM

jettmorrison said:
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Planning for a SLI rig? What are GPUs are you looking at running?

Related resources
March 2, 2008 8:31:54 PM

Alright...can you guys be more specific. I don't know all the lingo you are using. Sorry

SLI? xFire Chipset?

Could you guys list specific parts you are referring too? Thanks
March 2, 2008 9:02:39 PM

SLI Crossfire FAQs

SLI is what the Dual PCI-Express Slots are for on the MSI P6N SLI Platinum you're considering.

March 2, 2008 9:39:41 PM