Tags:
  • New Build
  • Gaming
  • Computer
  • Cooler Master
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
March 5, 2008 6:11:54 PM

So I am in bad need of a computer upgrade since mine is ancient. I have wanting to get into gaming but haven't done it simply because my computer is so old. I'm looking at either building a new system built for gaming or building a new system built for word processing, internet, video capture, watching T.V., etc. and buying a gaming console to play my games on.

I'm not exactly sure what my budget is but it's in the range of $600-$800. I've got a Coolermaster Centurion Case and CoolerMaster Extreme PSU 600W. I got it before I realized CoolerMaster is a bad brand for PSUs but I got it from Newegg for the cost of shipping after MIR. The case I also got for $5 after MIR. At the same time I got a CoolerMaster Gemini II CPU cooler for free after MIR. What does everyone think about the cooling performance of the CPU cooler I got? If it sucks, it was free so I don't really care.

Here's what I've been thinking about getting:

Gigabyte P35-DS3L
Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 1600 (PCI Interface) or Hauppauge WinTV-HVR 1800 (PCI Express x1 Interface)
2x1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 RAM
Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HD

Do you think I should go with a different brand TV tuner? Also, what are people's thoughts on getting a PCI Express vs. PCI T.V. tuner?

I'm planning on reusing my old DVD burner (IDE).

The things I need the most help on is picking my video card and picking my CPU. If I go with the basic desktop I was thinking of either the E2160 or the E4500. I am leaning towards the former simply because it's $50 cheaper and I can OC it to 3.0Ghz pretty easy with my MOBO choice. Will it make a difference in a basic desktop whether I have 1MB or 2MB L2 cache? That seems to be the only real difference because I'd plan to OC both of them anyway.