It took all day. Can someone QA this system for me?

crackheadclark

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2008
Hey people,

I started this morning with a budget of £300 ($600) and ended up deciding theres no point in having an overdraft if im not going to use it and its now £460 ($910).

I am a newbie when it comes to making a system.. i mean i have replaced parts all my life but if you dont keep in with the hardware loop then it starts to become double dutch :pt1cable:

I would appreicate if someone could look though this spec and give it a tick or a cross... I dont want to buy a system if i cant use it this weekend (skint now so no beer for me!).

■Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Mid Tower Case
■Sony 20X DVD±RW Serial ATA
■2*Hiper 120mm Case Fan - Clear HiperFlow Frame & Blades - 3pin with Adaptor/Screws Included
■ATI HD 3850 Pro 256MB GDDR3 Dual DVI TV Out PCI-E Graphics Card
■Seagate 160GB Hard Drive 7200RPM SATAII/300 8MB Cache
■OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15 PLATINUM XTC
■ASUS M2R32-MVP 580X CrossFire Socket AM2 8 channel audio ATX Motherboard
■Arctic Power 500W PSU With PCI-E 2x SATA, 20+4 ATX12V 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed
■AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ 2.5GHz Energy Efficient Socket AM2 L2 1MB (2x512KB) Cache Retail Boxed Processor
■Microsoft Black Wired PS/2 Keyboard 500 - Retail Box
■Microsoft Basic Optical Black Mouse - USB
■Phillips 190S7 17" LCD Monitor 1280x1024 8ms 700:1 VGA/DVI

Cart total inc vat: Cart total ex vat: £447.81

I know i need thermal paste and also a wrist strap just to be careful but have i managed to pick a ok system? Can you think of anything i might have missed out? Is there anything i should change in your opinion? The thing im most worried about is compatibility.

PS Thanks to everyone that has contributed to this forum, without tomshardware id still be stratching my head!

:D

Clark.

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished