Please help me overclock my Q9550 setup

Kaepora

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2008
Hi,
I recently assembled the following computer:
Intel Q9550 (Currently running at stock 2.83GHz)
2x2GB Super Talent DDR3-1333MHz RAM (Amounting to a total of 4GB)
Intel MB DX38BT (With latest firmware update)
nVidia GTX 260

I'd like to overclock the CPU but have absolutely no idea what settings I should use and just how much I should overclock it since I'm COMPLETELY new to overclocking. Can anyone here please help?

Thanks!

JuiceJones

Distinguished
Nov 19, 2006
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/mainboards/display/intel-dx38bt_7.html

In the "Processor Overrides" menu, set "Host Clock Frequency Override" to manual, and adjust the FSB. The Q9550 has an 8.5 multiplier, so your clockspeed will be whatever you set the FSB x 8.5.

If you're using the stock cooler, I doubt you'll be able to go very high, but just to test the waters, try FSB 376 for 3.2GHz. That should be safe with stock cooler and voltage.

Then you're going to have to go to "Memory Configurations" and pick a memory setting that keeps your RAM running as close to 1333 speeds as possible.

That should help you get the basic settings of your motherboard down. To get more advanced, tweaking voltages, monitoring temperatures, and adjusting memory timings, there are plenty of thorough guides I'm sure someone would be glad to point you to.

You have a very nice system there, good luck with your first overclocking attempts, you'll never not do it once you have it down!

G

look at all the guides on this site and MANY others

I'm sorry for being so quick/harsh but a simple word into a google... Overclocking... provides many results... if you want to be knowledgeable about computers do the research yourself instead of relying upon other people