Sign in with
Your question

Anyone else addicted to flight simulators? This build is for FSX

Last response: in Systems
March 9, 2008 9:33:01 AM

Hello all,
I am an experienced Server 2003 admin but I am not very caught up with newer client technology. So I would really appreciate a few comments on how to improve the components of this proposed desktop build. Basically it's main purpose in life will be for virtual machines and to play Flight Simulator X.

Case - Thermaltake Xaser VI VG4000SNA Silver / Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-EX38-DQ6 LGA 775 Intel X38 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Video Card - XFX PVT88PYHD4 GeForce 8800GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail **** (By the time I buy it will most likely be a 9800)

Power Supply - ZALMAN ZM – 850 HP ATX12V / EPS12V 850W Power Supply - Retail

Processor - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model BX80562Q6600 - Retail
**** (By the time I purchase I will probably choose a Q9450)

Memory - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-8500C5DF - Retail

Hard Drive - Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 ST3500320AS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

OS - Vista 64 Home Premium (or ultimate for doing AD domain testing)

Ok so there it is. I am currently doing a tour of duty in the desert right now and will be home around the end of May or so, hence the GPU and processor notes.

What am I looking at as far as what could be a better decision? And don't butter me up, I want real critism (computer related only though ha! :) 

More about : addicted flight simulators build fsx

March 9, 2008 9:35:04 AM

Sorry, I hit the wrong button... I am still editing the post.

*edit* I have completed creating the first post
March 9, 2008 10:33:54 AM