Sign in with
Your question

Help, Vista never uses less than 1GB of RAM

Last response: in Components
April 4, 2008 1:00:21 AM

I have Windows Vista SP1 running on my seccond computer, a 2year old Dell XPS with 2GB of ram and a 3.4ghz P4

cpu and the monitor that shows ram and cpu usage never goes under 49% ram usage....ever! Even when I have no

programs running its constantly at 50-55%

I'm no expert but Vista can't be that big of a ram hog, what can I do (other than installing more ram) to help free

up some of the ram.

Thanks-Chris

More about : vista 1gb ram

April 4, 2008 1:06:56 AM

gamecrazychris said:
I have Windows Vista SP1 running on my seccond computer, a 2year old Dell XPS with 2GB of ram and a 3.4ghz P4

cpu and the monitor that shows ram and cpu usage never goes under 49% ram usage....ever! Even when I have no

programs running its constantly at 50-55%

I'm no expert but Vista can't be that big of a ram hog, what can I do (other than installing more ram) to help free

up some of the ram.

Thanks-Chris

You can't. Vista is supposed to use that much. The only thing you can do is not run background programs, like antivirus. But that really won't help much since Vista itself is the one using up most of it. You can easily dump ram using some third party utilities, but that'll just slow down your computer to a crawl until all the programs eventually reclaim the ram freed, which makes it pointless.

Buy more ram. :p 
April 4, 2008 1:11:06 AM

Vista is supposed to use huge amounts of RAM all the time because it loads all the programs in that you might use, so they launch quicker.

Unused RAM is wasted when it could be used to speed up the system, and it's not like it slows anything down, as it takes as much time to overwrite empty memory as it does full memory.
Related resources
April 4, 2008 1:30:47 AM

polarity said:
Vista is supposed to use huge amounts of RAM all the time because it loads all the programs in that you might use, so they launch quicker.