Sign in with
Your question

four 9800GX2 cards: will it work?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 19, 2008 3:28:30 PM

I work as a Computer Scientist at an academic image processing department. In my research, I regularly work with nvidia Cuda (http://www.nvidia.com/object/cuda_home.html) for high performance computing on the graphics card (GPGPU). These are general computations that have nothing to do with rendering 3D scenes. For GPGPU, SLI is not required. Therefore, it seems possible to me to put four 9800GX2 cards on a single motherboard, for example the MSI K9A2 Platinum V2 (http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=proddesc&prod_no=1395&maincat_no=1) that has four (physical) PCI-Express X16 slots with double spacing between the slots.

When using CUDA, SLI is not used and each 9800GX2 is "seen" by the system as two separate GPUs. Therefore I am hoping to get access to eight separate GPUs by using four 9800GX2 cards. My computations can be distributed over these eight GPUs without requiring communication between the different cards (or between the two GPUs on each card).

So far, I have not found any information from others who have tried this before. Cooling and power are obvious problems that can probably be dealt with. Any ideas on problems that I can expect on the software side? For example, will the (non-SLI) driver see the four 9800GX2 cards as eight independent GPUs? Or is there a maximum limit built into the current WinXP drivers for the non-SLI mode?

Any comments would be appreciated!

More about : 9800gx2 cards work

March 19, 2008 3:32:27 PM

While this has nothing to do with anything I would ever do, I am extremely curious about this.
March 19, 2008 4:40:48 PM

Could you by any chance install 3DMark06 and Crysis on that machine.
Related resources
March 19, 2008 5:16:48 PM

Interesting questions - I cannot help here and I'm not sure this is the right forum to ask (see previous posts :-/) , try talkig to NVidia