$20-$70 CPU air cooler

simaton

Distinguished
Oct 20, 2008
Hello, new to the forums here. Pleased to meet you all.

I'm fairly new to computer hardware in general though I've done a lot of reading online in the last week and I have played around inside computers a lot. I've had computers most of my life, but never built my own. This is my first build:

System:
Intel E8500 Dual Core Processor
Antec Sonata designer case (500 watt psu)
Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3L mobo (decided I didn't need extra features from DS3R)
2x1GB RAM - OCZ Gold 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM 800Mhz (PC2 6400)
EVGA 9800 GT Akimbo 512 DDR3 RAM

Long story short, I've got my system up and running but getting random reboots/BSofDeaths and other weird quirks. After 2 days of troubleshooting, I'm seriously suspecting the mobo. I'm wondering whether the stock heatsink/fan that comes with the E8500, which bends the mobo once installed, could have damaged it. Whether it did or not, I absolutely HATE the pushpin system - the pins pop out, and if I get them to stay, I feel like they don't have a good enough connection with the CPU.

So, I've read various reviews about CPU coolers but still haven't found one that suits my needs. So I appeal to you readers; I could really use a hand with this. I want a CPU heatsink/fan that:

doesn't use pushpins
is fairly quiet
up to $70, but prefer not to go over $50 (even cheaper is better)
cools at least as well as the stock cpu fan, preferably better
isn't going to bend the mobo from sheer weight

I'm considering the Noctua NH-U12P (review - http://www.anandtech.com/casecoolingpsus/showdoc.aspx?i=3268), but the weight of the thing scares me. Maybe one step down from that would be nice.

Also, Noctua isn't sold where I normally shop - newegg. I'm willing to shop elsewhere online, but don't know where to buy stuff like that.