1st attempt... Crazy awesome??!!

1dude1

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
ok so i don't feel safe to boot my main comp right now because i just tried to oc it for the first time. so i have a
asus m3a79-t deluxe
amd phenom 9950 BE
16gb ram
2x radeon 4870 x2
ninja 2 heatsink (no water cooling)
abs monolith case
1200 watt psu
2 120 cfm fans (one on heatsink other on case)

ok so i just went into my bios and into jumper free configuration and manually set the fsb frequency to 350 and the pcie frequency to 120 and i saved and booted my computer to see what the difference was and it says that i have a 4550 mhz processor staying at a cool 36C/96.5F and a mb at 32C/89.5C

i really don't feel safe to boot, there's no way that this happened. is there any way that this could possibly be stable? what did i just do? i'm a complete noob to overclocking

36C? Yeah that seems crazy, but then that's just the BIOS huh :D. Anyway you really shouldn't raise the PCI frequency since that will cause all sorts of problems. I don't think you'll be able to boot with those settings honestly since alot of people have a hard time running the Phenom at 3.0GHz. Start off with a lower overclock and raise it slowly. I say you should set the multiplier to 15x with the default FSB and see if it boots. If it does run prime 95 for a while and see if it's stable. If it's stable, then try 15.5x, then 16, and so on until your computer can no longer complete prime 95. Once your system is unstable, go back down a step. If you want to push a little more lower your multiplier by 1x instead of .5x and increase the FSB little by little untill it again proves to be unstable.

1dude1

Distinguished
Sep 18, 2008
my motherboard has auto settings should i change those to manual, if i do it automaticaly switches it to the min so i have no idea what it was. so i left it all on auto.

what would be the concequences of trying to boot it with the 4550 settings

jkflipflop98

Distinguished