Your question

New Mobo and CPU

Tags:
  • Configuration
  • CPUs
  • Windows XP
Last response: in Windows XP
July 27, 2010 3:16:31 PM

I've installed a new mobo (Gigabyte 785 chipset) and cpu (Atrhlon II X2) in my current case, but need to keep all the info/data on my HDD. FYI...the mobo was fried and I was unable to backup any files.

I've read the sticky on how to do a repair install w/ XP. Is that what I need to do?

Should I install the drivers that came with the new mobo first then do the repair install. I'm a complete newbie here, so be gentle.

More about : mobo cpu

a b à CPUs
July 27, 2010 4:12:19 PM

Yep. Get all the hardware installed. Then boot off the XP disc, and do the repair install. In that sticky, I have a link for a screenshot guide that may help.

Once you complete the repair, you should be able to boot fine. You may want to then back up your data, and do a full format and fresh install of windows.
m
l
July 27, 2010 11:56:22 PM

Thanks for the reply...but just to clarify I need to install the drivers that came with the mobo; then repair install XP.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
July 28, 2010 12:00:51 AM

You can't install the drivers first if the hard drive isn't booting. If you connect the hard drive, and it boots right into windows, you don't need to do the repair.

Sometimes the hard drive will boot on a new motherboard with no problem. Sometimes it won't. That's when the repair is needed. You would run the repair first. Once the repair finishes, and the hard drive boots into windows, then you would install the new motherboard drivers.
m
l
July 28, 2010 12:48:23 AM

I just noticed my xp disc is "system recovery cd/dvd" It doesn't give me the same options as described in the sticky. Is this disc just to wipe clean and start fresh?
m
l
a b à CPUs
July 28, 2010 12:52:48 AM

Those are just to restore the computer back to factory settings.
m
l
July 28, 2010 1:32:04 AM