Sirmaxx

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2009
Hello

I have a notebook: Asus L5831P

Now i want to make my HDD Primary Master but i don`t know how.
Here is my BIOS:

3468125326_530569d3d7_b.jpg

As you can see my DVD-ROM is Primary Master .

I can`t find any jumper on my HDD. Here is a pic:

3467310409_5f5d03f9eb_b.jpg

Please help me to change this order.

Sirmaxx

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2009
I know, but i am trying to install iDeneb OSX86 on it and it seems that i have a problem with master/slave order of my components.

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
On the HDD, the markings don't say "Master" and "Slave", but they do show how to set it to "Device0" or "Device1". I'd bet "Device0" is the first choice or "Master", and that's done by installing NO jumper.

I'm more intrigued, however, with the BIOS Setup screen that shows you have Master devices on both the Primary and Secondary IDE channels, but no slaves. I would presume this means that each device has its own cable connection to a mobo port. The HDD is connected as Master on the SECONDARY IDE port because that's where the cable is plugged into the mobo. Normally the system will try to boot from the Master on the PRIMARY IDE port. So I think you need to verify that both devices are set with jumpers to be Masters (they probably are already) and then switch the cables around between the two mobo ports. That would move the current Secondary Port Master (your HDD) to being the Primary Port Master, and likewise move the optical drive to the Secondary port as its Master.