First Watercooling loop......Recommendations ?

helios2052

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2008
Hey guys,

Well I am completely new to water cooling, but I've always wanted to give it a try. Now I have a little extra money and thought I would go for it.

I plan on Cooling my CPU (Q6600 @3.6Ghz), my northbridge (x38 soon to be X58) and my next graphics card (my 9800gx2 is too expensive to water cool).
I want to keep this for a few years so I want to have room to add things.

EDIT: REVISED LIST!

Here are the parts I am planning on buying:

PUMP - "DD12V-D5"

RADIATOR - Feser X-Changer Triple

WATERBLOCK CPU - Apogee GTZ (Apparently there is a mounting brackit coming out for x58!)

WATERBLOCK NORTHBRIDGE Built in on board.

RESERVOIR
- Danger Den 5 1/2" bay reservoir

TUBING - 12-15 feet of Tygon 7/16" clear tubing.

Thanks for all your help guys and if there is any suggestions you still want to make, please do!
biggrin.gif

helios2052

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2008
Wow, that is a great link and I'll definitely give it a read later tonight...thanks.

My biggest problem is truly the radiator, which one in your opinion is the best for medium speed fans?

mrmez

Splendid
Get tygon tube. Seriously... i used a cheap tube and had nothing but leaks. The tygon doesnt leak even without clamps.
A triple rad should be fine (i use a single). Use fans in a 'pull' config.
Get a bay resivoir. Again, trust me on this.
Also add anti fungal/corrosive/conductive additives to the water.

Conumdrum

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Rads:

If you want noise meaning jet takeoff fans buy the BIX series.

You want quiet and cooling power, buy Thermochill or Feser but be prepared to pay.

The GT block is old, and not as good as the newer GTZ and Fuzion V2.

The Swiftech MCR series are a good mix of rad designs, and cheap to boot.

Get a triple rad now. So when you do add a GPU to the loop you don't have to upgrade. Or get a quad rad for now, but it's not needed.

My standard noob cut n paste: