Is a 8800GT 512MB better than 2 x (SLi) 7800GTX's? - Urgent!!

boole

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2008
Hi I currently run two 7800GTX's (256) in SLi, I can get a Gigabyte 8800GT 512 OC tonight for a good price (£100GBP = $198USD), but only tonight (auction).

Can anyone say if the 8800GT will be better than the two 7800GTX's? I have searched and can only find one benchmark site which has benchmarked both the 7800GTX 256 in SLi and the 8800GT 512, and the 8800GT did outperform the two 7800GTX's in every test, but I am finidng it hard to comapre the two scenarios becuase other sites use different tests and rarely have tested both etc, and use different test beds, ad to that that I am pretty new to the GFX card scene and I really can't work it out in time for tonight.

The new 8800GT's run about £138 ($273) and the GTS about £158($313), so I want to know if it's worth going for this cheapy GT becuase I only need a quick upgrade, I am planning a new system later in the year so this is really for a quick, cheap way to platy Crysis and ASsassins Creed, COD4 etc at better settings with less skip/lag than my current setup qwhich actually isnt very impressive and gets quite laggy on heavy games, I don't run v.high resoloutions, mostly jkust 1024x768 or 1280x1024 if the card can handle it, please let me know ASAP what you guys think, cheers!

George.

dev1se

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2007
No probs... at the resolution ur using the card will be more than enough, and less power consuming than your 7800s....

boole

Distinguished
Mar 23, 2008
Fantastic, I love how a bit of research and expert opinion can get you gamng at a really affordable price point, I can't wait to see what becomes the best card, whether it's a revised 9800 GX2 or something else, hopefully something will come out which can handle Crysis high settings.