Q6600 scoring 1fps on 3dmark 6 CPU test

G

Hi,

I have been using my new pc build for about 2 months now and decided it was time for a 3dmark test when I found a basic version on my PCFormat magazine cover disc.

Im running:
Antec 900 Case
Q6600 2.4GHz
ASUS P5KC
BFG 8800 GT OC 512mb
2gb OCZ
WD 500gb HDD

I havnt OCed my Q6600 just yet and have read that i can get it to around 3.2GHz with the right cooling. My problem is, that when i run 3dmark 6 im getting about 50fps average on the GPU test but only getting around 1-2fps on the CPU test.

Although iv not really ever had a real play with 3dmark im pretty sure i shouldnt be getting only 1 fps. (correct me if im wrong)

Just thought you guys might have some ideas.

Cheers :)

spoonboy

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2007
Thats more than normal behaivour. Systems that break 3dmark06 world records only get like 4fps on this test (these tests). What might surprise you is that the cpu isn't generating the graphics as such, but running multiple a.i. and physics threads. The little hovering robots you see in the scene jumping (very slowly :) )around from frame to frame are actually being driven by a.i. and fragments from the explosions are actually being simulated to some extend, not just a set animation being played back. It might be 5+ years before we see this test running at 25+fps.

For more cpu test info at this link:

http://www.futuremark.com/products/3dmark06/tests/

"3DMark06 CPU Tests
CPU Tests - Red Valley (requires full SM2.0 support or better)