home vid, game network

slowboy

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2008
hi all.really hoping someone can help me out. ive just built a house and had the forethought of laying cat6 cable to every room from a nook under the stairs. i have always wanted to have a system where i could access a main library of films or music vids from anywhere in the house.so if someone could let me know where to look or tell me what i need. for ex. a keyboard linked in each room. how do i do that?. as you can tell i am a newbie at all this but would love to complete it now i have the wiring sorted.hoping someone can assist.thanks in advance.noel.oh and possibly gaming off pc for the kids etc.

vibe

Distinguished
Oct 24, 2007
few ways of doing this,

1st off where do you want the movies etc to be saved? do you want a server with lots of hard drive space and just have everyone read off of that? or do you just want to share all the files on each PC?

LAN gaming is easy these day, all you need is a reasonable quality router, personaly I recomend the D-link 655 but youll find more details on routers all over the place. You will need to config firewalls so PCs can talk to each other. Thats all their is to it really.

router will dish out IP address to your PCs (DHCP this is called)

you can then setup shares on the drives/folders you want everyone to use.

You may want to look at running a home server, I have one stashed under my stairs with 4TB of storgae that my other PCs share, the are many other things you can do with a server like control user accounts.

slowboy

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2008