armless

Distinguished
Mar 9, 2008
Hey guys, I am planning to build a new computer to take with me to college. My parents will be paying for this build and I have a 800 dollar budget. I just wanted to see what you guys think of my current build and see if the build is compatible. I am no computer expert, but I have a bit of knowledge of computers. Since I do not need the computer until college which is like half a year I will be trying to get most of my parts while they are on sale or have rebates.

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-S2H AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz 2x512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Black Edition Processor
CPU Heatsink: ZEROtherm Nirvana NV120 120mm 2-ball UFO Bearing/Transparent CPU Cooler
Power Supply: CORSAIR VX450W 450W Active PFC & 80 Plus Certified ATX Power Supply
Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda ES.2 ST3250310NS 250GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
DVD/Cd Drive: LITE-ON Black 20X DVD/CD Writer
Video Card: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 3850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 Video Card
Monitor: Hanns·G HW-191DPB Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 700:1 Built in Speakers

I don't do much gaming on my computer. The most graphic intensive game I play is WoW.

I have a few worries about my current build
1) I have heard that the Antec 900 has the PSU on the bottom and I wondering if the wires on the PSU can reach the harddrives and other components.
2) I have read reviews that the heatsink I chose was quite massive and I was wondering if it would get in the way of other parts on the motherboard, especially the RAM.

Any suggestions and comments would be appreciated. Thanks

hughyhunter

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2007
Looks good!

Why do you want AMD? Is there a particular reason you dont want Intel?