Is my E8400 running too hot...screen shots & pictures!

rboarderi

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2008
This is my first build ever and I am a bit worried that my motherboard and CPU are running too hot. I have read many different articles saying that the E8400 does not give out the right temperatures. I have downloaded a bunch of the programs that everyone talks about here to read the temperatures and played Track Mania Nations Forever for a bit and then took a screen shot of all the temperature monitors. After that I let my computer idle for a bit and then took another screen shot of the monitors. Can someone decipher these temps and let me know what the real temperatures are and if they are too high. I have ordered an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 which I will be installing next week when I receive it to bring my temps down a bit I hope. I am also considering ordering a Noctua NU-06 chipset cooler as well. So should I be worried about the below temperatures?

Here are my system specs:
ASUS P5N-D 750i Motherboard
E8400
8800GT
4gigs OCZ
Cooler Master 690 Case

And the images...

f_idlem_3ae2337.jpg

f_loadm_7914471.jpg

f_casem_9ddad96.jpg

dagger

Splendid
Mar 23, 2008
It's running too warm. Never heard of "Track Mania Nations Forever," not sure how taxing it is. You should test with prime95 for temperatures.
http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm
That stock cpu cooler is weak. Get an aftermarket one. A half decent heatsink should be 4-5 times that size. Chipset cooler helps, but what you really need at this point is a good cpu cooler.

illinikevin

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006