Overclocking q66600 First attemp at OC

methix0r

Distinguished
Sep 12, 2008
hi im gonna be doing my first overclock soonish and i just wanan get clear on some thigns since it is my first time. I read the oc clocking guide on this forum
First My specs r q660 2.4 <stock> atm 4gig ddr 2 ram 8800gts 512 550 wat PSU 800gig hdd .now im gonna be upgrading video card soon to prob 4870 now i was thinking of o.c to 3.0ghz max cause the cooler i got Achillies something reduced the temp in my comp by about 12-14 degrees from the stock cooler depending on how hot it is in th room on stock cooler it idleing about 48-55 degrees on stock underload sometimes between 60-64 now with my achillies cooler it is idling about 41-46 underload 49-55 now the ig temps there r only cause it is hto day or something so i no i cant go past 3.0ghz with those temps or i wil have temp issues.but mny question is with a 4870 and a o.c to 3.0ghz on a 550watt psu wil be able to hold up fine it is a decent psu and can handla a 4870 fine jsut wondering about how it will be after o.c.

Anyway now donw to the hard part for me anyway.Just few question i got form reading the guide of graysky.im a little concerned about the voltages and memory stuff and ratio 1:1 about that pint i got really confused as some of the names in bios r different as we have different mobos .im running a gigabyte ps5-ds3p i wast want to calrify what the actualnames for these in my bios are the memory voltage and wchich settings i change for vcore voltage when doign the test for stability. l8r on thx

Zecow

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2008
memory should say something like DIMM and should start from somewhere between 1.8-2.0 v depending on ur ram specs

cpu is straight forward -
VTT - this is where u tune - don't exceed 1.5v
PLL - leave this as default

ratio is good to have 1:1, but from lab test, in real world apps, its hardly noticeable. I got my Q6600 to 3.6 Ghz. You might be able to do 400x8=3.2Ghz with minimum tuning.

methix0r