Your question

High-End PC for 3D Work and Gaming

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
March 20, 2008 9:44:05 PM

:hello:  Hey Guys, my first post here and its about the system I am about to order soon (very soon) and wanted to have some input on the parts that I am ordering since its my first build. This build is very high end.
Going to be going very slow since this is a huge investment and all the experience I have is putting a replacement heatsink on a video card. I will have a friend who has built high end systems as well available to help me. I will be doing minor overclocking to help boost the system as well.

Any Tips appreciated on this build. (Additional parts(Even small things like wires/screws), incompatibility, etc.)

Software I use:

Work:
Maya 2008
Photoshop CS3
Final Cut Pro 2
3DS Max 9
Zbrush3

Games:
Call of Duty 4
Command and Conquer 3
Final Fantasy XI

System Parts:

Case: $400
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution RC-830-SSR3-GP Silver Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case Real Power Pro 1000W Power Supply - Retail
(Looks like a great case and comes with PS, but will 1000W be enough? )

Processor: $1,060
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9650 Yorkfield 3.0GHz LGA 775 130W Quad-Core Processor Model BX80569QX9650
(Maya takes advantage of Quad Core so going for a good model, QX9770 doesn%u2019t seem to be much of an improvement?)

Mobo: $350
EVGA 132-CK-NF79-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 790i Ultra SLI DDR3 ATX Intel Motherboard
(Great overclocking board from what the reviews show)

Memory: $1,000
Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model PDC34G1600LLK
(Hate spending so much on memory, but Mobo requires DDR3)

Video Cards: $1,200
2x EVGA 01G-P3-N891-AR GeForce 9800 GX2 1GB (512MB per GPU) 512-bit (256-bit per GPU) GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card
(Reviews seem low, but quad SLI looks promising from this card bases on forums)