Sign in with
Your question

q6600 extremly hot! plz help

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
April 18, 2008 2:40:17 PM

hey, this is my first post on this forum and i hope i can get some help with my prob :) 

so this is my first build and i have been enjoying the performance since i have only used laptops before
i recently decided to o/c my q6600 g0 and bought a new HS: the CM sphere, so before i installed the new HS i thought id check the temp with the stock HS at stock speeds and i went into panick :ouch: 

those are the idle temps and after i ran a few games and apps in the background and it hit the mid 70c! i was afraid to even run prime95

this is my config:

q6600 g0
intel dg31pr mobo
xfx 8800gt
ODIN GT 550w
raidmax aztec case with 2x 120mm and 2x 80mm fans

i think the mobo is very hot and that could have something to do with it. my airflow is good and it is usually around 20c in my house, i have not installed the aftermarket cooler yet and would really like to get back on track with my o/c

and help is greatly appreciated. thanx

More about : q6600 extremly hot plz

a c 126 à CPUs
April 18, 2008 2:46:18 PM

Install the aftermarket cooler. It will do wounders for your temps. Only thing I can think is that the stock HSF is not seated right.
a c 125 à CPUs
April 18, 2008 3:03:49 PM

Those are not extremely hot temps. 80-90 is...

First thing to do is try to turn off your boards auto fan speed. If that does not help(Intel wants to keep it quiet, and that temp will not hurt anything. Those are about the same as my load temps.). You may want to try to reinstall the heatsink. Make sure you clean the old thermal paste off and apply a fresh new layer. If you have the board out of the case you can see if the fasteners went all the way through the board on all 4 corners.

From your HDD temp i would say the case is not overheating.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
April 18, 2008 3:15:37 PM