Sign in with
Your question

TJ09, fans, pos-vs-neg pressure, and im a noob

Last response: in Components
April 19, 2008 6:34:22 AM

Once my build is done, I will have a new sig for all the techie/gaming forums...
========================================================
Buh-Bai boutiques, thanks to Tom's Hardware forum users, I now build my own!
========================================================

Ok guys, Im a noob trying to figure out my case, fans, and airflow.

I plan on getting the Silverstone TJ09.

Pictures:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ShowImage.aspx?CurImage=1...

Last picture shows a couple of the fans that come with the case.

I plan on replacing the two stock fans and adding 3 more fans (only comes with 2) with these:
* Scyth S-Flex SFF21E (1200 RPM)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

I figured those work well since the ones in the case are already 1200RPM.

Given the above, my questions are as follows:

1) There is one fan inside (the midsection one) that both helps pull air in from the vents and also blow over the GPU to help with cooling. There is one fan in the back of the case that pulls air out. Do I want to put the two fans on top (or even just one) blow out of the case or into the case? Or do I put one blowing in (over the CPU) and one pulling out? Since they are so close to each other I figure whatever I do, they should be in same direction.

Reason I ask is because the only person in real life I know that builds says he prefers negative pressure, meaning more air is blowing in that is being blown out. Im so confused, it would seem if I had the top ones blowing in, then it would somewhat push against the air pulling in from the front big vents.

2) Do you connect the fans (say I use 4 of them) to seperate PSU connectors or do they get connected to the mobo?

3) Is there any reason to consider using 1600 RPM fan instead of the 1200s?