Sign in with
Your question

Help me piece together a new computer.....

Last response: in Systems
March 22, 2008 5:39:08 PM

Hello everyone!,

I think it is time for me to build a new computer. :bounce:  Here is what I want: An Intel Core 2 Cpu, An Nvidia graphics card, 2-3 gigs of good RAM, Fast Hard drive, Dvd burner with Lightscribe, A motherboard that will support a future Quad core...

1. I will be Overclocking as much as possible

2. I don't care if it is an SLI Mobo

3.I will be gaming on it

4.I want a case with the best airflow possible

5. I want to make sure the RAM will Overclock with my CPU

6.I have never Overclocked anything before so if I make a stupid comment or two yes I am a noob to OC'ing

7.As I said above I want a Motherboard that will support the Q6600 or the E8xxx series or any other quad.
(this list is starting to get long)

8. I want the CPU to give me the best Overclock bang for the buck. I don't have the cash to purchase the Q6600 right now.

More about : piece computer

March 22, 2008 5:39:45 PM

I was looking at getting:

Graphics: The 8800 GT 512MB, I'll probably put on an aftermarket cooler for it, so gimme some suggestions.

CPU: I wanted at least the E6600 but the price is to close to the Q6600

Motherboard: I have no idea, I just want one that OC's well

Hard Drive: One by Western Digital maybe? I just want a fast one at least 500 Gigs

PSU: ??? Gimme some ideas please..

OS: I am pretty sure I would get Vista Home premium 32 bit retail, and later do a dual boot with XP.

CPU Cooler: When I pick my CPU then I'll start taking suggestions on this.

RAM: Good for a OC

Did I miss anything?

I'll pick the monitor myself.

Edit:I'm not an Intel fanboy but they seem to have the upper hand in performence right now.

Buget is $500-$800
March 22, 2008 7:24:01 PM

See if u r on gamin..........going for dual core wud be a better choice....