Sign in with
Your question

Just Updated BIOS now CPU is hotter than before!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
April 21, 2008 4:26:51 PM

Hi guys and gals,

This is my first post, and just to warn you im completely new to all this having just built my first pc.

The problem is this: I have just updated my ASUS P5K Premium with the latest BIOS and now my Q6600 G0 is running loads hotter. It was ideling between 18-19 celsius before the update and now its gone up to a whopping 35 celsius! :ouch: 
I have a Tuniq Tower 120 heat sink on it with the fan knob set in the middle.

Any tips and advice would be most appreciated as I don't know where to start! :wahoo: 

Duncan,
April 21, 2008 4:37:30 PM

Sounds to me like your old bios was reporting the wrong temps. How could 18-19 degrees be core idle temps when ambient room temps are probable 18-19 degrees. Then tack on a few more for case temps, and then a few for core temps. 35C is not hot, so no need to worry. What are your load temps? Stock clocks or overclocked?
a b à CPUs
April 21, 2008 4:40:44 PM

Yup. I suspect the old BIOS was reporting 15 degrees less than correct, because it was not aware of the G0 stepping.
Related resources
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
April 21, 2008 4:45:15 PM

Hi pauldh thank you for your quick response!

I have not overclocked anything yet but the plan is to get the speed up to around 3.5 ghz.

35C is a normal temp - thats a relief! whats the "ideal" temp for the Q6600 at idle and load?

also do you know of any software that will load my system so I can check the temps?

Cheers!
a c 111 à CPUs
April 21, 2008 4:46:15 PM

What are you running to check the temps?

18-19 is impossible for a Q6600 no matter what heatsink, unless your room is 10-15c or cooler.

Sounds to me like your boards temp sensors(Socket or Tcase) where not calibrated right and they fixed it.

do not worry 35c is still cool and safe.

If you want to see the temps from the cpu it self try coretemp