Sign in with
Your question

Total Noob needs help looking over these components for first build

Last response: in Systems
March 24, 2008 3:56:47 PM

Hey all,

Just found this site and it's great so far. I've reviewed quite a few of these build threads but none of them seemed like exactly what I needed so I decided to add to the mess.

I currently have a laptop that I use for work but with the recent additions of a new database software and Norton 360 the thing barely runs. Considering that I have a new HD video camera with editing software and I love pc gaming, I thought I would build my own rig that can do all of the above.

I will use it for work, gaming, surfing, HD video editing, and burning/ripping movies, music, etc. It is usual for me to have 10 browsers up, my database program, Outlook, Excel, Word, Adobe PDFs, other assorted document programs, etc. up at the same time.

A friend of mine helped me pick out these parts from Newegg but I wanted to come here to make sure they would all work together and fit in this case, but also to see if there are better parts out there that I am missing. I have seen in a lot of these first build threads that you experienced people offer alternative part suggestions and I am completely open to them.

I would LOVE to stay around $1,500 for the whole thing including the monitor (I think I'm right at about $1,600 right now, it wouldn't kill me to go to $2,000 but that would have to include shipping and software as well).

So here we go and thanks again in advance:

Video Card -

EVGA 512-P3-N841-AR GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Overclocked version at 670MHz

Mother Board

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail

Hard Drive

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

CD Burner