A desperate plea! Maximus Formula Q6600

Soulculler

Distinguished
Nov 21, 2008
I just lost my blasted post by hitting submit without picking a sub-category! By the gods that's annoying. </rant>

Righto! Folks, I really need some help getting my rig to just run at it's rated speed. That's not overclocking I know, but bear with me. I do believe I'll be needing to change voltages and I could really do with the help. I'm new at this, so anything outside of the auto settings for me is overclocking!

My rig:

Asus Maximus Formula
Crucial Ballistix (4x1GB) DDR2 PC2-8500C5 1066MHz
QuadCore Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
BFG 1000w

Windows XP Pro SP3

This post was huge before I lost it so I'll try to cut it down this time around. In short, I was able to run my system at stock with the ram at 1066 up until I brought another 2gb of RAM. With the new RAM in the system won't even get into windows before it throws up a BSOD.

All I want to do is run my rig stock with the ram at 1066, without burning anything out by going nuts with the voltages. I've a pretty good air cooling system going on in my case, with bundles of fans.

Currently if I run the system all at stock it won't get past the "loading windows" stage without a BSOD. If I increase the NB voltage to 1.45 it will get into windows, but isn't stable. As a side note, I understand the Maximus overvolts the RAM, so I've been compensating for that and running it at 2.12 in BIOS.

I'm pretty sure the problem is getting the voltages and timings right on the RAM and NB/SB but I've no clues where to start. My fiddling hasn't turned up good results and my google searching even less.

Any help would be great!

Cheers lads.

What is the recommended voltage for your RAM?
FYI, with 4 DIMMs installed, many systems need a bump in the RAM voltage to stay stable.

Try testing each stick individually with [url0http://www.memtest.org/]memtest[/url] at the manufacturers specified speed, voltage and timings.
Vary the slot used for testing also.