Q9550 @ 4Ghz on a 780i EVGA board. Need some help

I am somewhat new to Overclocking, but I have been able to do it in the past for several computers and stable. If anyone has an EVGA 6 or 7 series mobo with default BIOS please help. So what I did to OC my Q9550 to 4Ghz was I increased the FSB to 1885 or something close to that to get 4002Mhz. Then I left the voltage on auto and so far it seems to be stable at 1.35v. I also made it unlinked but when I increased FSB speed my Ram went down from 800 to 797. can someone help me do this correctly, because I am not noticing a difference in game play. I know my GPU maybe a big bottleneck right now, but at least am I doing it correctly for when I get that new GPU?

My temps in Crysis go up to about 60C when at 4Ghz on air. My volts on auto are at 1.35V. So can someone please give me a step by step for the EVGA 780i mobo BIOS including speed, volts, ram, etc? My specs are below.

My Specs:
Quad Core Q9550 2.83GHz 1333Mhz 12MB cache 45nm
EVGA 8800GT 512MB Superclocked (Core 650, Mem 950)
4GB Corssair XMS2 DDR2 800 (4-4-4-12) 2.1 volts
EVGA 780i Mobo
700w OCZ GamerXStream PSU
320GB Hard drive 16MB cache 7200RPM
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Windows XP
32 answers Last reply
More about q9550 4ghz 780i evga board help
  1. um first i would say get the latest bios update and flash it... then put the vcore to the max intel lists on its website (just google q9550 and the first one should be intel website...) for VID, so it keeps a long life :)

but seriously... why would you need more than 4ghz? thats pretty extreme for a quad...
  2. No its not that I want to go higher then 4Ghz, I just want to make sure I am doing it correctly. Like I said, when I went from 2.83 up to 4Ghz, I didn't notice a bit of difference. Thats not right and I think my GPU is at fault, but I thought I would at least see some improvement or I am doing something wrong.
  3. I noticed a difference going from 2.85 to 3.85... its clearly your GPU