Question on Disk Management and partitions

jocee486

Distinguished
May 9, 2009
I'm new to using partitions so bear with me...

i just built a new computer and installed vista on a 16 GB partition because I read that it is a good idea to install your OS on a partition seperate from where you store most of your other data. My C:/ drive is where vista is at and I created a seperate partition which I named F:/ which is where I hope to store data such as games, pictures, videos, programs, ect.

what is the easiest way of going about on changing the drive path or maybe extending the C:/ partition? I tried going into Disk Management and changing the volume path for C: to F:, but windows says i cannot modify the drive of the volume since it is a boot volume and/or has page files.

I also tried extending the partition size of C: but it blurs out the option for that drive. I can get it to copy files to C: AND F:, but my C: partition has less than 500 MB left in it. :(
Is there any way i could maybe get it to stop storing data in C: and have it store it in F:? If anyone has any suggestions I'd really appreciate it.

ausch30

Distinguished
Feb 9, 2007
If the page file is causing it to not allow you to do it you could temporarily turn it off.

Start>Computer>right click select Properties>Advanced System Settings>Performance>Settings>Advanced tab>Virtual Memory>Change>Select No Paging File and agree with the warnings then restart.

After doing that try and change the partition size and then follow the directions above and turn the page file back on. If you are planning on keeping the F partition the you could just turn on page file on that partition and turn it off on your C partition, restart and try to change the size of C.

jocee486

Distinguished
May 9, 2009