First Build- Need your final opinions before ordering! ^_^

mud

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2008
After reading and doing some research, I put this build together.

I am still very new to this and I was curious if you guys can re- evaluate the specs of this system.

For example, if everything is compatible with each other, do I need a better power supply unit, or if I can get something for a cheaper price or if there is a better alternative (motherboard, graphic card, memory, etc) ?

Please assist me with your expertise.

Thanks!

:sol:

------------------------

Here is my wish list link from NewEgg:

https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/Wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=10873847&WishListTitle=gaming+computer

random1283

Distinguished
Oct 26, 2007
Drop the 1066 / PC8500 ram as you will not need it just gab some good quailty 800/ PC6400 ram and you will save money and will do the same job try Partiot, OCZ , G-skill, Corsair.

deathsycthehe11

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2007
Nice list, looks like you done your research, but here a few suggestion.

Ram: Like the guy above, take it a down a notch to save some money. Get Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800 Ram heres one: http://www.buy.com/prod/crucial-ballistix-2gb-2-x-1gb-pc2-6400-800mhz-240-pin-ddr2-memory/q/loc/101/202541818.html very cheap with rebate.

PSU: Your PSU is great but also take it down a notch and but I would get the HX one. I'm not sure how different they are but people been recommending the HX one such as this one.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=203270716

CPU: I wait to get the newer Quads or the newer core2duos. Just personal preference here though, I like how the new core2duos reach to 4GHz ><.

HD: Like the guy above, 500GB seems to be the sweet spot with performance.

GPU: I personally like to stick to 8800GT as the sweet spot, so I like your GPU choice.

Good luck with your built!

mud

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2008

WoW! Thanks for everyone input! I will be ordering today :p