Need some expert assistance in overclocking a QX9650.

submicron

Distinguished
Dec 1, 2008
Hi,
Please forgive my ignorance I'm new to the over-clocking world. I have a Gaming Rig which is factory over-clocked already. I was just wondering if I can squeeze a bit more out of my QX9650. I understand some of the mechanics of the procedure but scare to blow my CPU into the next century. Right now is over-clocked at 3.6Ghz and its pretty good. I get on 3D Vantage a score of P22114. But then again I have 2 GTX 280's on SLI. Any ways, I hope someone can help me out. I have messed around with the BIOS but never to the point really tweaking the CPU. Also, I come form the Mac world which over-clocking is nonexistence. My specs are as follows:

NOTE: I did try for 3.8GHZ by bumping the FSB to 1700MHZ. The computer boot up fine but when I ran Prime95 it immediately sensed a problem with the hardware. I'm sure I did something wrong.

CPU: Intel Quad Core Extreme 9650 @ 3.6 Ghz
COOLING: Asetec liquid cooling
RAM: 4 Gigs of Corsair XMS DDR3 @ 1600 Mhz
MOBO: nForce EVGA 790i Ultra SLI
GPU(s): 2 EVGA Geforce GTX 280
AUDIO: OnBoard Realtek High Defenition
PSU: SilverStone 1200 PSU for SLI
HD 1: 2 150 Western Digital Raptors in Raid 0 configuration
HD 2: 1 250 Western Digital for backup
CASE: CoolerMaster 832 case (Black) Skull Motif

My Core Voltage is now at 1.368V
Multiplier: at x.9.0
Bus Speed: 400 MHZ
Rated FSB: 1600 MHZ

Memory Timings are 7-7-7-20 at 1.5V

Thank you in advance.

Fernando (aka) submicron

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
read this before you do anything else
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/240001-29-howto-overclock-quads-duals-guide
That will give you a general idea of how to overclock. If you still have any questions after going over that come back here for more specific help

Also you should note that the only place that you will see a difference between 3.6 and 3.8 GHz is in the synthetic benchmarks, you probably wont see any real world increases