RAID 0 questions for HD capture

snipethewolf

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2008
I resently bought a Black Magic Intensity Pro card to capture HDMI sources at native 1080p res. My issue now is disk write speed for capturing in RAW format. They recommend the following speed for what I' trying to capture - 140 MB per/sec for 720p and 158 MB per/sec for 1080p. Right now I'm running only one drive at about 55 MB per/sec. I want to increase my storage space for the files as well as speed up my write speed.

I'm new to RAID and all its fun. I have dealt with RAID 1 type setup's in servers but only in passing. From what I understand for my needs I would be wanting to run RAID 0? Is this correct?

I want to try and run the RAID if possible with my current hardware. I'm planning on cleaning off my drives and starting fresh with Vista Ultimate 64bit if its possible to run the RAID with it. If not I will go with XP if I have to.

Hardware and OS as follows

Mobo - MSI P45 Platinum
CPU - Intel Duo E8400
HDD - Seagate 500gb 3.0gb/s SATA
GPU - MSI Geforce 8800Gt Oc'ed
RAM - Corsair DDR2 1066 2gigx2
OS - Dual boot XP 64 and Vista Premium 64 bit
Capture Card - Black Magic Intensity Pro

I'm new to this game so any help with drives to look into, controllers that I might need and any tips, tricks and install help would be great!

Thanks,
Snipethewolf

Quick and short......
Your board supports RAID.
You want 2 identical drives.
It is pretty easy to set up.
Plug drives in.
Enter BIOS set controller to RAID.
Check to see if you have other RAID options, such as RAID as storage, RAID as bootable.
Put the RAID in the boot order if you are using them as boot drives.
Reboot, you should now see a line during POST that says something like "to enter RAID BIOS hit F4" or something like that.
Enter RAID BIOS, set type of array you want, the drives you want to use, build array.
Insert Windows DVD, reboot and start the install.
Vista SHOULD have the drivers.