Sign in with
Your question

having trouble overclocking E5200 with GA-EG31M-S2(rev.1.0)

Last response: in Overclocking
December 3, 2008 7:08:43 AM

Hi this is my first thread so plz understand my misbehavior if any :) 

So I came back home from Iraq excited to see my new parts and build my first DIY desktop and it went all good and suceeded to post first try.

But there was a problem afterward.

Every time I tried to overclock the CPU, even 10MHz FSB differance, it wouldn't post.

After messing with the bios and running cpu-z and stuff, I found out my memory's clock speed being recognized 400Mhz instead of it's rated 800 on cpu-z.

And in the BIOS, on VGA robust something(sorry) setup, it would say 'not guaranteed VGA graphics card will work properly.' and, if I set performance enhancement to 'turbo' or 'extreme', it would say 'system may not work properly.' (I tried to overclock with each 'standard, turbo, extreme mode.)

It's my first time overclocking and I surely did quite lots of research and ended up with Pentium Dual Core E5200 and the mATX Gigabyte GA-EG31M-S2.

And I've seen more than a couple of reviews that says they were able to overclock with the same setup with no problem.

I think I set all the power saving features disabled, made sure memory clock speed stays under the rated spec. and set PCI latency to 100MHz.

Here goes my desktop spec.

CPU: Pentium Dual Core E5200
CPU HSF: ThermalTake Blueorb II (plus Arctic Silver 5)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EG31m-S2 rev. 1.0
Memory: G.skill 4G(2Gx2) PC6400 DDR2 800 Dual Channel Kit.
VGA: Sapphire Radeon HD4830
Sound Card: Sound Blaster XtremeGamer
PSU: Antec Earthwatt 500W
Case: ThermalTake Lanbox Lite

I was expecting to overclock it at least to 3.0GHz, and totally disappointed. I think it might be compatibility issue of the memory and the mother board. I shouldn't have gone with G.skill when it wasn't on the mother board supported memory list(not that they list all of them that's compatible.)