Sign in with
Your question

OC Q6600 Very High Core Temps Using Prime95

Last response: in Overclocking
December 4, 2008 1:19:49 AM

First off I'm an overclocking noob, so there may be some stupidity below.

Here are my specs

Q6600 G0
Asus P5Q Deluxe (updated to newest bios before installing windows when i built this pc a few weeks ago)
OCZ Platinum 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
PC Power & Cooling S75QB 750W power supply

My goal is to simply overclock the Q6600 to 3.0Ghz (9x333) From what I've read this should be rather easy, but I'm running into issues with temps.

First here are my temps at stock idle. Ram is set to stock 1066 for a 1:2 ratio. Looks good so far.

And here are stock temps at full load running Prime95.

A little bit high, but within safe temps from what I've read. The difference in temps between core 0 & 1, and core 2 & 3 is kinda odd to me.

Ok, now to overclock. Here are the settings I changed in the bios.

CPU Frequency - 333 (Obviously)
C1E - disabled
Max CPUID - disabled
Intel Virtualization Tech - disabled
CPU TM Function - enabled
Execute Disable Bit - enabled
Speedstep - disabled
PCIE Frequency - 100
CPU Spread Spectrum - disabled
PCIE Spread Spectrum - disabled
CPU Vcore I left at auto on this first attempt
RAM stays at 1066 for a 5:8 ratio

Temps with these settings at idle.

Now here's where it gets fun. Temps at full load running Prime95

As you can see crazy temps on core 2 and 3, and again a huge difference in temps between the first two and second two cores. I didn't let this go on long, but I was curious to see if the PC would shut off so I let it run for about a minute. It didn't shut down or report errors.

Ok Vcore is way too high on auto. Next attempt I changed Vcore to 1.2875.

Temps on idle.

Temps at full load running Prime95

Still a big difference in core temps, and still way too high of temps. I let it run a few minutes, no errors.