CPU Heatsink Installation & fans

EricCDN

Distinguished
Mar 21, 2008
I'm a new builder and have a few questions about how to position my heatsink on my motherboard...

I have the Ultra 120 Extreme heatsink, with a 120mm fan... what way should it be positioned over my CPU(Q6600) and attached to my motherboard (xfx 780i). The fan is a Noctua NF 120mm.

I have the Coolermaster 830 Stacker SE and also have a question about how to mount fans for best airflow/cooling ... the case allows for 1 front, 1 back, 1 top, and 4 side fans, I have bought the extra 120mm fans for this but dont know what way the fan must face (how can you tell if it's intake or outtaking the air, if it helps explain what side to face where there is a sticker label on the fan blades in the center on one side)

please explain it as detailed as possible, as i am new to building a full computer, and know very little about the cooling/airflow.

well hope to hear back soon(so i can finish off my new build) if you need any more details about my setup please ask

level101

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2008
The front & side fans pull air in to the case, while the back & top fans push air out. The fan on the CPU heatsink should blow toward the back fan or the top fan.

The blade side of the fan is the Intake(pulling the air) & the sticker side is the Outake(pushing the air)

dragonsprayer

Splendid
Jan 3, 2007
you should always have the fan flow out the back not up - not up even with a case like antec 900 where there is a top fan

why?

there are many:

1) by having the fan face towards the rear of the case it pulls air accross the memory and also cools the chipset or nb

2) the rear fan and hs fan create a push pull effect that most top fans fan do not

3) after lots of testing it works best!

make sure you bend the arms to tighten the grip - slighly bend the 4 arms so there is more pressure - add lost of thermal compound since TR hs are dished by design

dobby

Distinguished
May 24, 2006