PLEASE HELP... SETFSB RUINED EVERYTHING!!!

ayushp13

Distinguished
Nov 14, 2008
setfsb ruined everything!!!
hello friends...this is very urgent...please help..
i am using gigabyte ga-945gm-s2 motherboard.yesterday i tried my hands on overclocking after reading this article from tomshardware Roundup: The Best Overclocking Software : Introduction.i am still a newbie to this.i downloaded setfsb and without knowing anything about pll version i messed up my default motherboard frequencies i.e, with other motherboard's pll version.now the problem is iam using c2d e6600 and its one core is running at 2.4ghz and the other is running at 1.53ghz.i am going completely mad at this..i tried everything like clearing the cmos and updating the bios to the latest version, but nothing worked.then i opened my case checked out my pll version and noted it down, the most intresting part was the pll version of my board was the same as that of the picture given in the article's motherboard one i.e, ics954201BFLF.. then again i booted up my machine and ran setfsb to select the closest matching pll version and that was ics954201BGLF but what the hell...nothing happened after selecting too many frequencies of FSB/DDR/PCI.either my pc hanged or it started again by reebooting it but still with the same problem i.e one core @2.4ghz and other at 1.53ghz.i am wondering why people like tomshardware adviced to overclock your cpu with setfsb in the article even if your motherboard is not compatible with setfsb also the example of the motherboard they used has the same pll version as mine!!i am badly stucked here...do any one has some idea for what i should do to get my both cores of e6600 run at 2.4ghz...my pll version is ics954201BFLF.i dont know anything about how to use set fsb...if somebody knows please guide me and also tell me how to post the screenshots in the thread so that to have a better idea about my problem.i have no option but to purchase a new motherboard because of this.also i checke