EXPERTS ONLY REPLY.......

tommyboy

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2008
headline a bit dramatic but i did get your attention...i want to overclock my q6600 cpu up to a modest 3 ghz . my rig consists of a GA-P35C-DS3R ( rev 2.0 bios f12e ), q6600 go version, 4 x 1 gb crucial ballistix 1066, bfg 8600 gts, ocz stealth stream 6oo watt psu , akasa cpu heatsink, 36 gb raptor & western digital 750 gb hard drives .. im after complete settings and voltages for the cpu and ram please to get me to achieve my 3ghz target..THANKS in advance.....

flyin15sec

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2008
I'm no expert, but a common sense approach would be to read the guide. Try OC by yourself first. Then ask specific questions regarding your setup.

Plugging in numbers DO NOT WORK.

tommyboy

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2008
i have tried a couple of settings but i seem to get instability...just hopin someone had a similar setup to mine to be frank .. i have read the guide some time ago and i found it not to helpful then.. to be honest im only wanting to overclock this processor to get a bit more out it before i upgrade to a higher performance intel quad..

Winly

Distinguished
well if the guide doesnt help you. you can search for videos and get a basic idea of what to do. for example in youtube there a lot of videos about OC, try google. but most important try to read the guide again and concentrate in it, that way you learn what to really do and not do.

tommyboy

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2008
seen the you tube videos but the memory they use seem to 800mhz ram and not the 1066 ballistic im using....

njalterio

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2008
+2 for the Holiday Inn Express, lol.

If you have the GO stepping for the q6600 3.0 GHz should be no problem. You probably could even do it without a voltage increase.

Make sure your CPU is not overheating.

njalterio

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2008

Is your computer stable without an overclock?
Maybe you just have faulty RAM. Run Memtest86