Is my new power supply DOA?

joe197608

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
Hello,

I'm a first time builder and just completed building my pc today and when I plug it in I get nothing at all. I get no beeps, no fans running, absolutely nothing.

I have a corsair 550W PSU. I went over everything in my pc to make sure everything was connected properly and from what I can tell it is. I'm a complete newbie at building computers so I may have missed something but I put my build up on these boards in the new build section http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/forum2.php?config=tomshardwareus.inc&cat=31&post=250791&page=1&p=1&sondage=0&owntopic=1&trash=0&trash_post=0&print=0&numreponse=0&quote_only=0&new=0&nojs=0 and got the a-ok from several people so there aren't any build issues that I know of.

I also followed directions very carefully and thoroughly about building a pc and kept myself well grounded at all times.

Anyone have any ideas of what could be going wrong?

Thanks,

Joe

mattg14

Distinguished
Jan 20, 2008
There might be a button near the power cable at the back of the case . Switch that and it will essentially turn it on. If not, make sure all the cables are plugged in and all the socket plugs in also.

message back

lucuis

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2008
Did you turn the PSU on? I've done that a couple times myself, resulting in a brief moment of panic before realizing what i forgot.

Anyways, since there is absolutely no fan activity then i'd assume there's something wrong with the PSU. If you have any kind of electrical expertise you can check it with a multimeter. Otherwise i'd just send it back.

joe197608

Distinguished
May 1, 2008
I turned on the switch on the power supply, so that isn't the problem. I'm at work right now so I can't check, but maybe it's set on 220V? I honestly didn't check when I installed it.