Retarded PSU / PCI-E question

WerdNerf

Distinguished
Mar 25, 2008
This is kind of a dumb question, but this is my first build and I don't want to screw anything up.

My motherboard requires what looks like a standard peripheral power connector from the PSU for the PCI express power, but my power supply has a different connector for the PCI-E 12V power. It has a 6 pin rectangular connector, but the board requires a standard 4 pin peripheral power connector.

The PSU has several available standard 12V connectors that will fit, but the board requires 12V+_Com_Com_NC , while the power supply connector indicates 12V+_Com_Com_5V+. Am I correct in assuming that since there appears to be no connection (NC) at the 4 pin on the board it's perfectly safe to use the peripheral connector, even though there is 5V+ in that position? I'm just not clear whether NC means there IS no connection or whether it means there SHOULD BE no connection. Since there IS a pin physically there and not an empty slot it's hard to tell.

I know 5V isn't really enough power to do any damage, but I just want to be absolutely certain.

Thanks.

Zorg

Splendid
May 31, 2004
What's the mobo model, and the PSU model. The 12V CPU power connector is not the same as the PCIe connector. Some mobos have a 4 pin molex for additional power, but I don't think that is what you are talking about. It's not clear from your post.

Gh0stDrag0n

Distinguished
Sep 17, 2006
:pfff:
:bounce: 5v is more than enough to fry sensitive electronic componets. :bounce:
Read the manuals that come with your equipment. They will explain how to connect everything.
:non: DO NOT FORCE PLUGS INTO SOCKETS THEY WILL NOT FIT
The 6 pin PCI-E power connector will plug into a PCI-E X16 video card not your motherboard.
The 4 pin power connector on your motherboard is for the CPU and your PSU should have a 4 pin plug with black and yellow (common and +12V) wires.
Just follow the directions in the manuals and Good luck.