Need Feedback For Liquid Cooling Setup

b1naryatr0phy

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2008
So for my latest computer
build i'm going pretty much complete liquid cooling, though i've never built a water cooling setup before so i could use some feedback on the design i have in mind.

I want to stay under or around a 300$ budget for the cooling system so I decided against using more than one loop; and instead branch the loop with a y-splitter. I'm thinking i'll put the GPU on one branch and the chipset and CPU on the other branch. Here's a rough drawing of what i intend:

schematicswq9.png

I'll probably be using a 360 radiator, 1/2 inch diameter tubing, and a 300gph pump w/ speed control.

So what do you all think? I guess i feel that branching would be most effective in a single loop system as opposed to running everything on a single path which to me seems that the accumulation of heat through the single path would decrease it's effectiveness for the block(s) at the end of the chain. But will branching the flow have some kind of unforeseen negative impact? Any feedback would be very greatly appreciated :)

bc4

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2004
I think I'd cool the water before it went into the resevoir. Maybe someone with more experience will disagree but i'd have it like this

Radiator ---> Resevoir --> Pump --> loop

I guess it depends on the documentation for your setup... its been a while since i've dabbed in WC and found it was a pain. The radiator fan that I had was as loud as anything else I tried so the few degree's cooler just wasn't worth it.

I haven't watercooled before but you setup looks sound. however if the 2 water blocks up top are going to be video cards then I would try to reroute it if possible. Perhaps a 3 way split from the rad. If it's only the vga and the chipset then i'd leave as is.

b1naryatr0phy

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2008