AMD 5000+ black edition overheat without overclocking

coldwinter

Distinguished
May 9, 2008
Hi, I upgraded my system to a AMD X2 5000+BE + Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H, I was planning to overclock the cpu but ironically now I have to downclock it to get it stable. The cpu running at stock speed @2.6 was too hot and was not able to finish prime95 stress test, the temperature climbed over 100 C and the system just shut down. I am forced to downclock it to 2.3 and even that the cpu is running at ~105 C under full load, I think this is crazy. The HSF is a cooler master (don't quite remember the model, if I remember correct it's got TX in the name) and its max spin rate is around 2400rpm. I suspect the HSF is not properly installed. If I am to reinstall it, how do I go about doing that? I have never tried to install a cpu and fan before. Btw, the temp at idle is 40+C.

ruffus999

Distinguished
May 8, 2008
I'm basically having the same problem. I have a AMD X@ 5000+BE on a Gigabyte board. I believe my board is just an S2. Worked fine for a long time then all of a sudden it's overheating. To the same degree as yours but mine hasn't shut itself down. Mine also idles at 40c. Initially I was thinking it was a heat sensor problem but that is still to be determined.
Reinstalling the CPU is rather simple. It's a matter of removing the HS (I'm assuming your HS did not come with the CPU). But with mine, you just unscrew the HS and lift it off. Some HS are mounted by just being clipped in. I'm thinking you're just wanting to install a new Heatsink (HS)? If so, then clean off the Thermal paste from both the CPU and the bottom of the HS. Reapply a thin layer of thermal paste to the CPU and evenly cover it. Place the HS back over the CPU and seat it. This link should explain it better then what I can.
http://www.fonerbooks.com/r_cpu.htm

Try flashing the bios to the latest version (which might explain the sensor readings being out) after checking the HSF is greased and seated properly.