power concern with intel dg965wh MB

ac71

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
I have this computer with Intel DG965WH and E6300 running fine for a year or so. Recently I started playing with this kill-a-watt toy and noticed that in completely idle condition, it is consuming 90W. Not good, I realised that in idle condition, the cpu freq. is only varying from 1.86 to 1.6 ghz even though in vista power management it is told to go down as far as 50%. Latest bios didn't fix anything. Also, I don't see any setting in the bios to set acpi version (1 or 2 or 3 etc). Any clue ?

akhilles

Splendid
No, I don't think kill-a-watt is wrong. The computer industry are exaggerating the power needs. Take my 4ghz o/c'ed pc for example. It uses less than 200 watts at idle. If you google around, you might find a short write-up on an 8800GTX PC using about 300-400w.

2nd, the cpu will throttle down at idle by default. Unless you disable C1E, EIST, thermal control in bios. Look at your manual in the bios section.

ac71

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2008
Thanks for reminding me about the biggest culprits when it comes to pc power consumption: the graphic card vendors! It is sad that they hardly provide any power saving mechanism in idle mode.

Anyway, my issue was cpu throttling, I have enabled EIST in BIOS and in vista power mgmt the cpu is allowed to go down upto 50% of its rated speed. But in reality it toggles between 1.86 and 1.6 ghz. I have searched the intel motherboard literature and found nothing else to be enabled. So, was wondering if anybody else had better luck on power management with this board (DG965WH) on vista.

The efficiency of the power supply will determine how much power the overall system will consume. The higher the PSU's efficiency, the lower the overall power consumption.