New to overclocking with temp questions

Philosophytutor

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2008
I am new to overclocking and I started out by reading as much information I could find. One of the first guides I read was the “Core 2 Quad and Due temperature Guide – by CompuTronix.” After reading the guide I did some experimenting and my experiences are not matching the guide. I am sure I am doing something wrong I am just not sure what. If you can, please help me out.

The first thing I did was to follow the guides instructions and slow my computer down to get idle temps and then set it back to normal and get load temps. The problem is the temps are not where I (and the guide) seem to think they should be.

Results

Tcase = Idle 30 / Load 49
Tjunction = Idle 30 / Load 50

Variables

Ambient = 22
Chipset = 775 LGA
C2D = E6750
CPU Cooler = AVC PENTIUM 4 DUAL CORE HSF Z9H741K001
Frequency = Idle 1.8ghz / Load 2.6ghz(Stock)
Load = Prime95
Motherboard = EVGA NFORCE 680I SLI MB REV D
Stepping = Revision G0
Vcore = Idle 1.1 / load 1.4 (Stock)

The first question I have is what kind of cooler do I have. I bought this computer from Alienware a while back and that is out of my system info off of their website. I just cant find any information on it other than a German website which will sell me one (unfortunately the site is in German so I cant make much of it).

Perhaps I am wrong but looking at the heatsink/fan and considering it was from alienware I would hope it is better than stock. But if I use your formula with the heatsink as the unknown variable I get 8. So either my heatsink and fan sucks (is worse than stock Intel) or speedfan is reporting my temps high.

Also under load I am not getting the 5c separation between Tcase and Tjunction mentioned in the guide. Even if I push my computer a bit (I overclocked it to 3.6ghz/1.4v) and after running prime95 for an hour (no errors) I got only 2c separation between Tcase and Tjunction. (69c/71c).

What is going on with my system?