Sign in with
Your question

Building my first computer and of course need some guidance.

Last response: in Systems
April 11, 2008 7:16:19 PM

Hello all, this is my first post so I suppose I'll introduce myself a little bit?

My name is Trevor, I'm a student currently but do quite a bit of web design and graphic design on the side. I work part-time in a photolab and play way too many videogames (no kidding). I'm near Toronto, Canada in a little town called Bradford.

Here's the quick and dirty;

I want a machine that'll be able to run UT3 on the highest settings at a smooth 40-50fps minimum. I would really like to be able to squeeze the same performance out of it for Crysis but I don't see that happening. I don't know a whole lot about hardware but I think I know enough to confidently say this computer will serve my purposes well. I will also be doing a lot of flash and video work on it and my main supplier will most likely be Tiger Direct (with the acception of Canada Computers for the case, which I'll be purchasing at their store, not online).

Heres what I have so far:

Case: Antec Nine Hundred _____________________ $100.00 CAD

Motherboard: XFX nForce 680i LT _______________ $185.00 CAD

Processor: Intel Core2Quad Q6600 2.4 ghz ________ $280.00 CAD

Video Card: XFX GeForce 8800 GT 512mb __________ $240.00 CAD

RAM: OCZ 2x2048mb 800mhz DDR2 ______________ $95.00 CAD

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700-watt _______________ $130.00 CAD

HDD: WD Caviar 7200rpm 500gb _________________ $100.00 CAD

Optical Drive: Lite-On SuperAllWrite DVD Drive _______ $40.00 CAD

The total after CDN taxes I'm looking at >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> $1322.00 CAD