Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer, good choice?

bluzman32

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2008
I'm thinking about ordering the Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835207004
I am choosing this product because it is pretty cheap, with free shipping, and also includes some thermal compound. If there is another product that can compete with this price (or slightly over it) including thermal compound and shipping, I'm open to suggestions.

It will replace my stock intel heatsink on my E8400 3ghz. I'm thinking about just doing a quick OC to 3.6ghz and seeing if I'm brave enough to move up from there.

Anyway, I have never done this before. Does this Sunbeam product look good? The newegg page seems to have pretty positive reviews. I saw a few people there with the same motherboard (ASUS p5q pro) so it looks like it will fit okay. I'm pretty sure my case has enough room height wise, but I'm not sure how wide this heatsink is. I can't seem to find any dimensions of it.

Another question that I have is how exactly is this particular heatsink mounted to the motherboard?
The pictures show some screws and a bracket, but I don't understand where on the heatsink these will be connected. I also assume that I will need to take out the motherboard from the case to do this?

Asus p5q pro
Core 2 duo E8400
2 * 2gb G. Skill PI Black

brendano257

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2008
It looks decent, but a model such as the Xigmatek Rifle cooler, or the CM Hyper TX2 are both cheaper and proven to work, I would take a look at those two.

The Hyper TX2 is holding my E8400@3.8 around 50C, max of 53C.

G

Core Contact Freezer is currently the BEST air cooler out there especially for dual cores

I'm surprised its on newegg, I got mine else where but its keeping my q9550 @ 3.85 ghz nice and cool (comparatively)

kyeana

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
i have heard good and bad about that cooler